#1139 File.copy: maintain permissions

Coderz Tue 6 Jul 2010

I have been using Fantom now for about 2 months, and I am very impressed by the design and the ease of use. It seems there are some people out there thinking...

Anyway, I have a problem with the File class. I am running on WinXP, 32bit Ubuntu, 32bit Slackware, numerous other 32bit linux systems, Cygwin as well as Ubuntu 64bit.

When I copy a file using File.copyTo, there is no problem on any of the systems except for Ubuntu 64 bit. The file is always copied using file permissions 644. The original file being copied is an executable file, and I have all access rights required for the operation. Obviously it fails with permission denied error when I try to execute it.

I can not find anything in the source code or the documentation about file permissions or how to change it. Please can this be added to the api?

Thanks

brian Tue 6 Jul 2010

Promoted to ticket #1139 and assigned to brian

Hi Coderz, welcome to Fantom!

I didn't think that Java exposed APIs for security settings, but I just looked and it looks like they added some APIs in 1.6 for it. So I will expose that in Fantom, although if you are running on 1.5 or older it will fail.

Given the all the different types of permissions (and potentially full access to permissions in the new 1.7 file APIs), I'm thinking the most flexible design would be to expose this as a permissions String field. For now just "rwx", with potential future support for owner, group levels, etc.

Also as part of this feature, I will ensure that copyTo maintains the same permissions as the source file.

Does everybody like that design?

tcolar Tue 6 Jul 2010

If i understand that right, the issue is with Java.

Java being cross platform and all does not handle File permissions at all (in the API's), so usually you have to deal with that separately (chmod) which can be quite annoying.