#2663 Considering Fan for complex Web application

andrey Wed 6 Dec 2017

Hi folks,

With 1.0.70 released I'm considering Fan as a potential language to develop huge enterprise web app. By "huge" I means dozen of man years to be committed.

I'm in early stages of planning tech stack, and looking for expert opinions from people who has experience building web apps with Fan. Personally, I had great experience with Fan in the past, now in 2017 is there any advantages in using Fan for web app development comparing to TypeScript? (I've no experience with TypeScript)

I'd be happy to learn details from anyone who can suggest Fan to be used for web app over other solutions. I do not care about non-functional aspects of development (like size of ecosystem, learning curve, etc), but I care about productivity of an engineer in the long term.

Thank you, Andrey

brian Wed 6 Dec 2017

My thoughts...

I think probably the most important question is do you want (or do you care) about what server environment you use?

TypeScript would probably require using node.js as your server environment.

I personally still believe the Java VM is the best server environment. Its super robust, mature, and fast. It has native threading and lots of APIs. But it is memory heavy if you want to run lots of micro services. But if you don't want to use the JVM server side, then Fantom probably isn't a good fit - although we run JS and can run in Node.JS, we don't have all the server side bindings like file system access.

Fantom definitely was early pioneer in the one language for both server (JVM) and browser (JavaScript). I know a lot of other languages have followed that model and its now not as uncommon as 10 years ago. I don't know how portability works in other langs, but I know Fantom has really strong story that one code base works robustly the same b/w JVM and browser. We have a fairly huge code base that we use in both browser and JVM.